Journalists, writers, bloggers, broadcasters and photographers who communicate about beer or pubs are invited to enter the Guild of Beer Writers’ annual awards

Entries are now open with a closing date of 10 September and a highest-ever prize fund of £14,000.

Last year’s awards were inevitably reshaped due to the pandemic, with the winners announced on Zoom. This year, the Guild is bringing back its popular Awards dinner in London in December, where the category winners, overall Beer Writer of the Year and Brewer of the Year will be unveiled.

All entries will be judged on how well they further the Guild’s mission “to extend public knowledge and appreciation of beer and pubs”.  Entrants can submit to 13 categories, which include a new Award for Best Book about Beer and Pubs, as well several returning after an absence last year:  Best Young Beer Writer, Best Beer Writer in Trade Media, Best Beer Writer in Regional Media and Best Writing about Pubs.

Judging is carried out by a panel chaired by Emma Inch, Guild Chair; Keith Bott, MD of Titanic Brewery; Sarah Bridges, founder of the A Lady of Leisure travel website and former Mail on Sunday correspondent; Joanna Copestick, publisher at Kyle Books; Matt Eley, communications consultant and former editor of Inapub magazine; Paul Hegarty, Secretary of the All-Party Parliamentary Beer Group; Emma McClarkin, chief executive of the British Beer & Pub Association; Ned Palmer, cheesemonger and author; Valentine Warner, chef, writer and broadcaster and Georgina Young, brewing director at St Austell Brewery.

Emma Inch said, “We were delighted with the response to our Awards last year, which clearly demonstrated the respect and affection felt for the competition. We’re even more delighted to be running them this year with more categories and a bigger prize fund thanks to our sponsors. Whether you’ve previously been shortlisted, or have never entered your work anywhere before, if you’re communicating about beer and pubs, these are the Awards to enter.

“In addition, we’re thrilled to be returning to One Great George Street for our annual dinner. Our Awards presentation has become a ‘must attend’ in the industry calendar, with bars provided by our sponsor brewers, wonderful food matched with beers, and the company of around 200 Guild members and industry friends. After a challenging year for beer and pubs, this is something we can all look forward to!”

The Guild will publish a shortlist for all categories in November, and winners and runners up for each will be unveiled at the Awards Dinner. One category winner will go on to win the overall Beer Writer of the Year Award and the Guild also will also name its Brewer of the Year, sponsored by SIBA, based on votes cast by Guild members.

The Guild Awards Dinner will be held on 2 December at One Great George Street, Victoria. Tickets for members and guests will go on sale on the Guild website later this year.

Full details of all categories, and advice on how to submit entries, can be found on the Guild’s website.

The closing date will be 10 September and works submitted must have been published between 1 October 2020 and 31 August 2021.

This year’s categories

  • Greene King Award for Best Beer Writer, National Media
  • Adnams Award for Best Beer Writer, Regional Media
  • Heineken UK Award for Best Beer Communicator, Online
  • Asahi UK Award for Best Beer Broadcaster
  • Budweiser Brewing Group UK&I Award for Best Writing about No and Low Alcohol Beers
  • Carlsberg Marston’s Brewing Company Award for Best Writing about Sustainability in Beer and Pubs
  • VisitFlanders Award for Best Beer and Travel Writer
  • Shepherd Neame Award for Best Writing about Pubs
  • NEW FOR 2021: Guild Award for Best Book about Beer or Pubs
  • Guild Award for Best Beer Writer, Trade Media
  • Guild Award for Best Young Beer Writer
  • Guild Award for Best Citizen Beer Communicator
  • Guild Award for Best Beer Writer, Corporate Communications